Storm Stereo #20

peanuts music

Greetings my lovelies!

Another installment of Storm Stereo aka my life soundtrack ready for your audio consumption, this time broadcasting from Prague. A new career in a new town indeed – and the private notion of my life as a David Bowie song continues. Here are 2.5 hours of music for when your heart inhabits the necessary darkness found in joy’s temporary shadow.

A mix of soft chords, dreamers pop, experimotional trips, outernational love songs and more. For those moments when we run from home and grasp imaginary straws looking for heaven. We dance and dream, uplifting the heart’s heavy wings, helpless, walking around looking for something, a wild combination. Just you and me and the start of everything. Heaven in the grooves, creeping through the night, your face always on my mind, your picture on my wall.

True love will find us in the end. Until next time, stay posi and take care.

With love from outer space,

—Obsessionist

DAVID BOWIE – A New Career in a New Town
JOHN DUFFY AND THE COUNTRY GENTLEMEN – 500 Miles¹
BERT JANSCH – Running From Home
VASHTI BUNYAN – Love You Now
JACKSON C. FRANK – The Visit
PETER SARSTEDT – Where Do You Go To My Lovely?
DENNIS WILSON – Love Remember Me
NINO FERRER – Looking For You²
ARIEL PINK – Baby
吉村弘 / HIROSHI YASHIMURA – Dance
DIRTY BEACHES – Lord Knows Best
CLEANERS FROM VENUS – Helpless
FURNITURE – Why Are We in Love?
GILB’R – Beesan Rum (A Song for Anna)
ARTHUR RUSSELL – That’s Us / Wild Combination
EQUIKNOXX – I Really Want to Write on Her Purple Wall
KALBATA – Al Shark (Part Two)
QUILTLAND – Uplift the Heart’s Heavy Wings (Horizon Version)
SPOOKY BLACK – We Were Together Once
VARG feat. YUNG LEAN – Red Line II (127 Sätra C)
BEN FROST – You, Me and the End of Everything
YVES TUMOR – Perdition
VASILISK – Heavens Above
DANIEL SCHMIDT AND THE BERKELEY GAMELAN – And the Darkest Hour is Just Before Dawn
MIDORI TAKADA – Long Song of Urfa
BALIGH HAMDI – My Love Story
AMEEN MOKDAD – Viaggio³
ANTONIO SANCHES – Pinta Manta
LATA RAMASAR – The Greatest Name That Lives
ROBERTO MUSCI – Claudia, Wilhelm R and Me
PEDRO SANTOS – Dual
DANIEL JOHNSTON – True Love Will Find You in the End
THE LANGLEY SCHOOLS MUSIC PROJECT – To Know Him is to Love Him

 

1 = I first heard this song in Monterey, California in 2013. I was born there 31 odd years ago and left when I was a baby, and only went back for the first time when I was 26. I was in the Redwood forest, at one of the little stop-offs, with cafés, restaurants, souvenir shops and a small stage that had live country shows at night. It was dusk and there weren’t too many people around. We were getting ready to leave so I went to the outdoor bathroom. There was no one sitting round the stage but an old man that looked like Willie Nelson sat on a stool in the middle of the stage fiddling with a guitar. A few minutes later, as I’m squatting, thinking how surreal it is to be back after so long, I heard a song come from the distance. Just the soft sound of a guitar and the old man’s voice came wafting along the breeze and into my ears, and I cried right there and then mid-pee thinking of what a perfect moment it was. That night I connected to the shitty hotel WiFi and spent about two hours digging through YouTube to find a version of this (apparently popular) country song that sounded even remotely like what I had heard the bearded old man play in the middle of the forest. And John Duffy and the Country Gentlemen comes pretty darn close!

2 = So YouTube has become my new favourite way of discovering music (also I have stopped interacting with people cause most of them suck so I stay home a lot) and while autoplay and recommended videos definitely fall short after a while, Youtube really wanted me to hear this song. It came up in my feed multiple times and the cover initially made me ignore it. Then I listened to it and boy, am I glad I did. A gem of a love song that – probably much like Midori Takada’s Through the Looking Glass, a once-obscure record that has now met worldwide critical acclaim thanks to YouTube – will become (has become?) an internet sensation.

3 = Ameen Mokdad is a local Iraq hero if ever there was one. He risked his life in Mosul to keep playing music amidst war-ridden destruction after Isil took over the city, and if his playing doesn’t give you chills up your spine and make your heart tighten then you’re not human and can stop listening to this podcast.

 

2 thoughts on “Storm Stereo #20”

Leave a Reply

